Strong African Presence at the Weekend’s Chicago Marathon

Viewers on DStv and GOtv who have been enjoying unrivalled coverage of the 2019 IAAF World Championship, can look forward to more great Athletics action.

The next major running event on the calendar is the Bank of America Chicago Marathon, which will be held on Sunday 13 October 2019 in ‘Chi-Town’, and will be broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 8/SuperSport 9/SuperSport 10, Maximo 2 and Select 1.

While the event will not feature Kenyan running star Eliud Kipchoge (a former champion of the Chicago Marathon, who will be participating in the INEOS 1:59 Challenge in Vienna this week), there will nonetheless be major African participation.

The men’s elite field for SuperSport viewers to enjoy includes 2015 Chicago Marathon champion, Dickson Chumba (Kenya), 2019 Boston Marathon champion Lawrence Cherono (Kenya) and the fastest man to ever debut in the marathon in 2:03:34, Getaneh Molla (Ethiopia).

This trio will look to get the better of defending Chicago Marathon champion Mo Farah of Britain (also a four-time Olympic gold medalist) and United States favourite Galen Rupp, the 2016 Olympic marathon bronze medalist and 2017 Chicago Marathon champion.

In the women’s elite field, 2018 Chicago Marathon champion Brigid Kosgei (Kenya) will look to defend her title. The main threats to her ambition will come from American marathon debut record holder Jordan Hasay and 2018 Paris Marathon champion Betsy Saina, as well as 2018 US marathon champion Emma Bates, Mexican national record holder Madai Perez and three-time Olympian Lisa Weightman.

Don’t miss the Chicago Marathon on DStv and GOtv. Visit and to subscribe or upgrade, and join in on the excitement. And while you’re on the move, you can stream the action on DStv Now.


Chicago Marathon – Details

Traditional date: First/Second Sunday in October (before Columbus Day)

Location: Chicago, Illinois, United States

Event type: Road

Distance: Marathon

Established: 1977

Course records: Male: 2:03:45 (2013 – Dennis Kimetto) / Female: 2:17:18 (2002 – Paula Radcliffe)


Chicago Marathon – Last five male winners

2018 – Mo Farah (Great Britain)

2017 – Galen Rupp (United States)

2016 – Abel Kirui (Kenya)

2015 – Dickson Chumba (Kenya)

2014 – Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya)


Chicago Marathon – Last five female winners

2018 – Brigid Kosgei (Kenya)

2017 – Tirunesh Dibaba (Ethiopia)

2016 – Florence Kiplagat (Kenya)

2015 – Florence Kiplagat (Kenya)

2014 – Mare Dibaba (Ethiopia)